Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Keeping the people of a country happy and satisfied should be one of the main goals of the government of any country, along with pinning the country on the global map for everyone to see. To attain this goal the government must always keep an eye out for the problems persisting in the society and how they can root them out. The prompt suggests that government of a country should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future. I mostly agree with this proposition but I do have some reservations about a few corner cases and will be debating the pros and cons of this proposal in the following sections.

First of all, problems that have been persisting in the society for quite some time and have made the lives of people a living nightmare must be addressed as soon as possible. For example: Bangladesh and other Indian subcontinents are rife with traffic jam. Students, working professionals and basically anyone going out must always mentally prepare themselves for the hassles that the infamous traffic jam might through at them. There are cases that a mere distance of 2 kilometers take around one and a half hours to travel during peak office hours. This is not normal and going through this day in and day out is not normal and the government must take immediate steps to solve this issue at it's core, whether it be sanctioning funds to construct flyovers, passing bills for more advanced public transport like metro rail and underground train service. Furthermore, India is a country where rape and molestation of women is very commonplace. Women are scared to travel alone at night or as soon as it gets dark. The situation is so dire that even with a another male that they trust women do not feel safe to go out after dark, as there have been several accounts of the male being beaten up and the women being raped by gangs of hooligans. If a problem like this persists in the society for a long period of time it will result in either a massive uproar from the common people or the collapse of the society itself. Thus, problems like this require much swifter steps from the government than some problems that might or might not occur in the future.

On top of this, let us talk about the problem of corruption by people involved with the government. Corruption more often than not is pervasive in most countries, some more than others. The common people work day and night to earn their livelihood and a significant part of their earnings are deducted as tax. These are the hard earned money of the backbone of the society, ''the common people" and this funds cannot be wasted and usurped by the people at power. The common people pay this money so that the government can make their country a better place to live in and not to fund a member of the parliament's trip to Singapore. This issue can be juxtaposed with the rape issues discussed above, as if it persists for a long time it will lead to the eventual collapse of a country and it's economy.

On the contrary, developing alliances with countries in the driving seat of world power is always something a government must keep in mind. As, a powerful ally will go along way in preventing several unwanted issues in the future. For example: we can see Pakistan forming a strong alliance with the new superpower of the Asia, "China" even though they had to burn some bridges by not taking in Uyghor muslim refugees. This was a bold move by the then prime minister of Pakistan, Imran Khan to solidify Pakistan's image in the world.

In conclusion, these is a very complicated issue and the arguments of these essay are not as black and white as they seem with many grey areas in between. But I feel more importance should be given to current issues that ate debilitating the society but issues that might occur in the future cannot be forgotten as well.