All parents should be required to volunteer their time to their children's schools.

Children’s school good performance mostly requires attention from their parents, but it doesn't mean that all parents need to volunteer their time to schools, sacrificing their time spent on the work. From my perspective, requiring all parents to volunteer time to their children’s schools is not necessary and it is even useless sometimes.

I have to admit that when parents stay in the classroom, accompanying their children during the class, their children will focus on the class other than sleep or talk with their partners. For fear of being criticized by their parents, children usually concentrate on learning new knowledge. However, does this an effective and efficient measure for schools and parents to foster a good habit of their children? In my opinion, the answer is not. Under supervision, although students can behave well in class, it is hasty to claim that without those supervision, they will keep paying much attention to the class and homework instead of talking with classmates in class. It is possible that those naughty children can change their way temporarily when their parents are in school, but they will still talk loudly in class when their parents are not in school. Then it is a waste of time and not a successful way for children to foster the good habit.

Besides, considering the busy work and much pressure from the company and the increasingly fierce market, most parents cannot leave their work behind in order to visit their children’s schools. As we know, when children are in school, their parents are also in the company, working hard to earn money to support the family. If all parents are required to volunteer their precious time to their children’s school, then I believe there will inevitably emerge complaints among those parents who think this requirement incredibly unnecessary. Also, for those parents who care little about their children, when they follow the requirement, it is likely that they will continue their work utilizing their mobile phones, paying little attention to their children. If so, this measure cannot be as effective a way as imagined.

Moreover, for most schools, it is hard to accept so many parents, given the limited teachers and leaders in school. What’s more, as far as safety is concerned, too many parents contribute to the uncertainty among children, the difficulty to control all parents, and even the danger of the students. For example, all parents are required to arrive at school after five o’ clock in the afternoon. During the last class before five, all teachers have to prepare well for welcoming those parents and the safe guards need to be highly alert in distinguishing those parents for fear of enabling strangers to enter the school. For schools, this measure requires so much energy and people, which may result in little satisfaction from all the stuff in school.

In a nutshell, although parents, when in school, can allow their children to behave well, this requirement cannot be a good way given positive impacts and the cost of schools. Accordingly, it is unwise to require all parents to volunteer their time to their children’s schools.