All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Will the companies operate more efficiently when they listen to their own employees or when companies hire outside consultants?

Some argue that hiring a consultant from outside of the company would promote the operation of the company because the consultants are considered to be experts in that particular field. But others state that companies operating system would improve when they pay more attention to the suggestions of their own employees.

After weighing the evidence, it is certain that the companies would operate more efficiently when the employees are involved rather than hiring outside consultants because employees understand the core values of the companies and have a practical experience of the loopholes of the companies that they work for therefore, the employees are in best position to offer suggestions on moving the companies forward.

Those who would argue that consultants should be hired from outside fail to realize that these consultants are novice to the companies and would only understand the visions of the companies based on what they are told and that would give them a myopic view of what the companies stands to achieve unless they have a more practical experience like employees.

Now consider that Microsoft which is one of the leading technology companies in the world sends his employees to tech schools for three to six months to acquire further knowledge on new innovations in the tech world in order to improve the company rather than spending the money on hiring consultants from outside that keep charging them each time they render their services to the company.

In a long run, Microsoft would spend less and gain more when its their own employees rendering such services and these employees would focus more on the improvement of the company rather the money been paid.

Like Guaranty Trust bank that has become a leading bank in Nigeria because of their innovation of mobile banking which was suggested by some of their employees who noticed where other banks were failing.

In conclusion, it is clear that companies would operate more efficiently when they spend quality time in listening to their own employees and also, acting on their suggestions rather than hiring outside consultants.