All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary

Hiring consultants which do not work for the company have some pros and cons. I dont agree with the author on the topic that if the company spends more time in listening thier own employees than there would be no need to hire consultants from outside. Consultants are hire to solve problems which occurs in the company and the company does not know how to solve it. Consultants are usually expert in their field of knowledge. They know their subject from top to bottom and can provide solution which other people have not thought of. A compnay hires a consultant from outside when they feel that the employee tried best to come up with a solution, but the result are up to the mark. When we are constantly looking at a problem and we are not able to solve it, than our brain becomes saturated and we can't think of a solution. At that time we can take help from a person who has not seen the problem and ask him/her for the solution. They might be able to think from different persepective and the issue would be solved. Cosultants usually a leader and he/she leads a team of employee from a company who are facing a problem. Consultants have help to tackel the problem and provide solution in much faster and efficent manner. Consultants also helps in cost saving as they are not the permannet employee and work on the contract. They are hire when there is work unless like employee who we need to pay every month. Consultans provide a little push which helps the company grow and expand. As they work in different companies they know what is going on the market and what are the current trends. They can help in marketing and sales department and provide with specific solution. Consultants uses house of quality table to analyse the company which they are currently working with and help them to compare their provide or service with their competitor. This benching would help the company understand where does it stands right now, and what are they lacking in their product and services. Consultants will have more exposer to the market than the employee of the company, as the consuktants work for different company and tackel different problem, their skillset of proble solving is way above than an average employee. Sometimes it can happen that the consultants may suggest some changes in the company which do not match with a goal of the company. So,just relying on a constant won't work for a comapny. This is the only disadvanatge is there in hiring a constants from outside. Constants and the employee should work in an amalgam for the benfit of the company. Advantages of hiring a constants from outside are more than its disadvantages and a company should surely do it to increase the profit, efficency and optimization of the comapany.