In surveys, Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

According to the survey which was done in Mason City, the residents of the city have, favorite recreation activity which is water sports like swimming, boating and fishing. On the contractory the Mason river, these sports rarely happen. The resident are complaining for that the quality of the water in the river is degrading and it is smelling. So, they have asked the city government to devote more money towards the riverside recreation facilities. This argument lies on series of unpersuasive assumption and it is logically not apt. There are many reason to prove it.

First, it could happen that the survey have only included a few number of people as their subject and this may have result the a one sided answer. It could also be that the question which have been asked are not perfect. Unless the people conducting the survey provides with the number of participants and the type of questions which where asked, it would be difficult to accept the result of the survey.

Secondly, if the water sports was among the favorite recreation activity of the resident of the Mason City than the river should be used more often, which is not the case. It could be that only a small percent of the residents like water sports and they are demanding more money to be spend.

Thirdly, the quality of water in the river might degrade due to the people throwing their waste into the river, washing clothes near the river. There might also be a factory near by whose untreated waste water is being added directly into the river. On increasing the water sport, the river would be more dirty as there are chances of oil leak from the boats, people throwing food packets, can into the river when they go for fishing. Increasing the budget to riverside recreation facilities would not be helpful to increase the quality of the river water. The smell from the river could be caused due to natural resource like, the river bed may contain the Sulphur which have a pungent smell.

So, it would be difficult to remove the smell. Till the survey is not taken properly and the factory nearby which might be causing the water pollution is not taken into account, and all the other factor mention above, the government should not increase the budget on riverside recreation facilities