A nation should require all of its students to study the the same national curriculum until they enter college

Studying same subject in inital stage of life have its pros and cons. I don't agree with the author on the topic that all students need to study same subjects till they enter the college. A national wide curriculum would have disadvantages more than its advantages.

First, few core subject like English, Maths, History, and so on should be manditory for the students to learn in the school. This will help them to make a strong foundation for the futher subject they want to study. English is the most common language which is spoke around the world and learning it would help the students to communicate easily with any person from any part of the world. Maths is use in day to day activity and understanding the concepts of it will surley help the students. Maths is basic subject for many other subject like programming, accounting, problem solving,etc. History is taught in school so, that the stduents knows about their past and the mistakes which have cause an event to happen in past and how to avoid it.

Along with these core, mandetory subjects, the student should have a choice to choose the other subject which he/she wants to learn or have interset in it.

Allowing the student to choose the subject of thier own choice will help them to gain more knowledge about the field in which they wants to make their futher. If the student already knows what are the basics of the subject and are focus on what they want to purse in life, than the choice of subject would surely help them to become master in their field. Lets us understand this by an example.

If a student wants to do mechanincal engineering, than he would select subject like, thermodynamics, fluid mechanism, engineering drawing, and so on. He/ She would not choice subject like biology, civics, accounts which have no relation to their field of choice or interset. These same could be done if a student wants to study medicine than they would omit subjects like maths and physics. They would focus more on subjects like biology, chemistry, pshycology.

If their is a national wide curriculum than the students are force to study the subject which they don't like or subjects which have nothing to do with the field in which they are going to make a career. All the students have some strengths and weakens. So, if a student selects subject which are his/her strengths than there are less changes to make mistake or regret later in life. If a student is force to study a specific subject which he/she don't like than they would not have any motivation to study that subject and they would only study it to pass the subject.

I am not saying that there should not be some common subject across the nation, but having a same curriculum until college would have more disadvantages than advantages.