All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Employees are the heart of any company, without whom the company cannot function. The employees of a company are well aware of every minute aspect of the working of the company, and how different situations are handled by different teams within the company. This kind of 'insider information' is crucial while trying to reason about ways to increase efficiency of the company. Any outside consultant can never get this kind of information, as some of it might even be confidential. Hence, I agree that it is better to listen to the employees while making efficiency decision rather than hiring outside consultants.

Suppose a company wants to make such decisions related to improving its efficiency, and it hires an outside consultant for the same. The first thing the consultant needs to do is get to know about the working of the company. As described earlier, he/she would face hurdles in this phase, as some of this information might belong to trade secrets of the company or might belong to its customers, and hence would be confidential. Moreover, the employees would be reluctant to share all information with a stranger due to lack of belief in him/her, as they might suspect that it could be used against them in some form or the other. The consultant might also need to study about the field in which the company offers its products or services, which could take significant amount of time. So, hiring the outside consultant would not be a very wise thing to do in this situation.

As opposed to this, if the company assigns a panel of senior employees to deal with this problem, it would be more effective. These employees could be chosen from different components of the company, to ensure that the panel has a good high-level view of the working of the entire company. These senior employees could question their juniors to get more deeper understanding of the company's functioning, who would be more free to discuss these issues as they would know the senior better than the outside consultant. These junior employees could also pitch in about what they feel should be changed in the functioning of their component of the company or some related component of the company. After gathering all this information, these seniors can use their contacts in the industry to enquire more about how these functions are carried out in other companies, and also use their own expertise and work experience to deduce some changes in the company which could make it more efficient.

But the consultant might offer some value to the company in making these decisions. If the consultant is quite well experienced, and dealt with a similar circumstance in the past, he/she can leverage his learning from that situation to provide well-thought solutions to increase the efficiency of the company. Even though he/she might not have a lot of domain knowledge about the company's field, he can offer his problem solving mindset to work out ways to increase efficiency.In conclusion, I think that it is better to collect the views of the employees in order to devise solutions for increasing efficiency of the company. Hiring an outside consultant can have its own benefits, but the employees' opinions would be more insightful in this regard.