Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and

development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the

recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples

shape your position.

Any Government considers national interest as its primary regulation. Its actions are also, unsurprisingly, aligned with these interests, which prompt it to take decisions to curb any threat to the nation. But, while doing so, no thought is given to its impact on Mankind as a whole. These decisions might very well be destructive for humanity even though they might favour the growth of the country. Sometimes, these decisions are so short sighted that it may even lead to the country itself going backwards. Hence, I feel that governments should not have the power to limit the scientific endeavour of the scientific community, which constantly tries to widen the horizons of knowledge and provide new avenues of human growth and prosperity.

A very recent example can seen in the form of Chandrayaan-3 landing. ISRO had launched a spacecraft named Chandrayaan-3 a few months back, which intended to study soil conditions and atmosphere on the south pole of the Moon. This was the 3rd attempt by the Indian agency at trying to get a rover onto the moon. It landed successfully on the Moon’s south pole on 23rd August, and this mission is expected to provide extremely vital information about the Moon, which would be helpful for the space research community in the upcoming missions. It could also heat up the space race, which would encourage more organisations to conduct expeditions to the moon and beyond. If we look at the overall economic condition of India, we see that the per capita income is low, and a large fraction of the population lives below the poverty line. Due to this reason, the Indian Government provides a very tiny fraction of its GDP to the ISRO for its missions. But this is where we see that the Government is very short sighted in its approach. Had the Government provided more funding to the ISRO, the organisation would have transformed India into a space research and venture hub. The enormous space market would have opened up tons of opportunities for the Indian youth. And it would have marked a huge leap in the development of mankind.

Another recent incident involving Artificial Intelligence also highlights this crucial fact. In a congressional hearing of the United States, Sam Altman, the CEO of OpenAI requested that the US government should place restrictions on AI related research, as it poses threat to the entire humanity. As enormous as this threat might sound, any moderately knowledgeable scientific researcher in the AI community knows that AI can only automate human chores by using large amounts of data (also mostly generated by humans). There is no realisable threat to the humankind due to AI, as it has no consciousness of its own, but only knows how to replicate human behaviour on an intricate task. It is speculated that OpenAI, being the most dominant player in AI research, wants to continue this hegemony, and is therefore doing anything at hand to make it possible. But the US Government is blinded by the doomsday picture painted by OpenAI, and might take steps to curb AI research, which could lead to tremendous stagnation to AI research, that has the capacity to revolutionize everything from health sector to the energy sector.

Thus, we see that, Governments are not the right authority to control the research and development in the scientific community, as they do not have the scientific mindset or the scientific foresight that is necessary to understand the consequences of research and development. Any limitations must be decided by the community itself, as they are the ones who know the impact of the work, and would be the most competent authority to make decisions in this regard.