Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement mentions that technology like internet and videos can distract students from learning. It is obvious that technology distraction exists, but every student has a choice to use it for learning or for entertainment. Thus, schools can have regulation programs to reduce the technology distraction.

First of all, we definitely cannot ignore the numerous positive learning consequences by using technology. Imagine a country, Iran, where there was not internet to help students to understand textbook contents better. Consider how much easier it could be for students to study with innovations like teaching websites and not just textbooks. Technology can bring an opportunity for teachers to teach their concepts better and deeper to students.

Additionally, depending on the concept everybody learns better by using different methods. For example, some students learn better with reading different articles, research papers, online books, online flash cards, and practice tests. But some students learn better with watching videos and movies, and seeing pictures. No matter what is the teaching concept and how students learn better, technologies like Internet and computes have brought a lot of ways for teachers to teach better and for students to learn better.

However, some teachers and parents believe that unlimited use of Internet can be a distraction in schools. Obviously, students who spend a lot of their time playing video games, checking their Facebook, and chatting online cannot focus on their studying; however, we cannot blame the technology. There are always two sides of technology; bad and good sides. Thus, it depends on students to use it positively or negatively. In addition, schools can easily install especial programs to filter video games, websites, and Facebook.

Technology like Internet and videos can definitely improve and bring unlimited teaching and learning techniques. Surely students can get extra help from different online websites to learn deeper. In case of distraction, schools can have regulation programs to guide and monitor students.