Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Leaders must have a variety of abilities and qualities so that people become loyal followers. One of the most important characteristics of a leader is to mantain the respect of his or her peers because if people feel respected they will trust their leaders more.

Studies have shone that subordinates who feel respected by their boss preform better at their daily tasks. This happens because people feel that their job is valued and relevant. In this sense people who are respect by their leader take on more difficult tasks because they feel acomplished by the aproval of their leader. An examaple of this is the former president of Colombia Alvaro Uribe Velez who during its goverment excecuted the plan to take Colomabia back from the insurgent army. In his regime he congratulated the generals of the armed forces publicly, and this made the miltary focused on excecuting the plan. During his time as president Colombia was the safest it had ever been.

Even though having moral judgement is an important characteristic as a leader because this will translate on to better desitions, it is not as important as respect of their peers. People who feel respectes and valued will execute the orders better even if they do not agree with them. An example of this behavior in history is what happend in Germany in World War II. Hitler was a radical leader who believed in the extermination of the jews to make Germany better, even if the comanding officers of his regime did not agree with him, they follow orders to create the extermination camps because he respected them and praised them.

In conlcusion, people who feel respected and valued by their supperios follow orders better even though they dont agree with the leaders moral judgment.