Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Effectiveness of leaders is often measured by the results produced by them; and roles played by their teams. A good team always works in unison towards their goals in line with guidance and roles defined by the leader. And members would follow a leader if they respect him/her and their judgement. A sound moral judgment is a driving factor in ability of a leader to gain and maintain respect of his/her peers, hence one is dependent on an other.

While all leaders may face several moral dilemmas over course of time, their consistency and just behavior plays a key role in ensuring that the team performs well and as per moral standards defined. A good leader always keeps morales of his/her team high and ensures that every one feels motivated, important and satisfied by communicating well and showing trust. All members are aware that by no means there contributions are unnoticed or unimportant, even if they seem smaller as compared to others.

As human nature has it all leaders may have some favorites or peers on whom they depend more as compared to others. Such dilemmas, if involve such persons become even more testing for leaders since any deviation from standards or any lapse in judgement due for bias would result in huge disgruntleness and loss of reputation for them. Hence, even if moral judgement may seem unimportant as compared to abiltiy to maintain respect but it is a key determinant and of paramount importance.

Although leaders can use authoritarian tactics to keep their teem in check and get output, but even if it seems the peers are respecting them, infact they would be afraid of the leader. Hence team members would not perform at the optimum level.