Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

It wouldn't be wrong to assume that both the mentioned characteristics: the ability to make sound moral judgements & maintain respect amongst peers are important traits of a successful leader. But it would be wrong to state that respecting peers is a more effective a parameter because often a leader is supposed to make tough decisions & the quality of maintaining respect towards his/her peers could hinder their capability of making a wise & just decision.

A leader is defined by his/ her ability to lead the mass into achieving a common goal. He/she is the one person whose sole purpose is to ensure high spiritedness, perseverance and co-operativeness amongst his/her team members. It's also their responsibility to resolve conflicts and re-instil a sense of unity if a situation of hostility were to arise. Take, for example, the political leaders of a country, who have pledged to serve the nation and its citizen by strategizing and devising plans for the development of the country. Introducing bills to increase the GDP, improving job opportunities, ensuring education, removing inequality, fighting corruption, all these tasks require clarity of thought, analytical & strategical thinking and sound judgement.

Moreover, the effectiveness of a good leader is revealed in tested times. For example, in times wherein a conflict of interest arises between sections of the community, a decision-maker ( leader ) who sets aside his personal preferences and takes a morally right judgement in resolving the conflict would be held in high esteem than a leader, who in the wake of ensuring respect towards the individual communities involved, takes a rather diplomatic stand.

Although, in certain regards, one could argue that since a leader is representative of a team, he/she might unwittingly be biased towards their team members, hence degrading their ability to make logically & morally sound judgement when stuck at the crossroads of judging their team against another.

Even despite this crossroad scenario, the statement emphasizing that an effective leader is the one who can maintain the respect of his/her peer is to an effect wrong. Rather a leader who, without compromising on their morals and ethics can pronounce a sound judgement is comparatively more sought after.