Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

An effective leader is someone who is able to make sensible decisions based on sound moral principles to execute or achieve a goal. Instead, a leader who places more importance on the opinions of his or her peers about him or her is destined for failure as history shows.

One of the main causes of the French Revolution was the heavy taxation on the poor. Despite knowing that the poor cannot afford to pay such taxes, no reforms were made by the king due to the heavy resistance from his officials. Eventually, the frustruation of the poor lead to the French Revolution, a chaotic time in which the Louis XVI was executed. Had Louis XVI listened to the complaint of his people rather than the opinions of his political officials, such an event might have been preventable.

A similar scenario can be seen in the fall of the Roman Empire. Nero took the throne at an early age. Despite having trained by Seneca, a prominent philosopher at the time promoting individualism and sound moral principles, Nero ignored his teacher's teaching and instead listened to his peers. His officials often mislead Nero into making decision that would benefit themselves instead of the people. His poor leadership contributed to the fall of the Roman Empire. Had Nero evaluted the morality of his decision, he could have prevented his eventual suicide.

History has shown that an ineffective leader is one who places a greater importance on the respect of his peers than on sound moral judgment.

As seen in the examples above, a leader who fails to hold his decision to such a moral standard is destined for failure.