Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

In the present convoluted world, more often than not, leaders rely on the social acceptance of their peers than on their correcting their moral compasses. Efficiancy of a leader relies on his actions in office which have to be backed up by honest, morally appropriate judgements.

The overall output of a leader's actions, if based upon the acceptibility among colleagues, can lead to disastrous outcomes. The social circle of a person comprises of people who have had similar experiences in their lives which ends up schewing the overall effectiveness of judgements. The reality on the ground is often starkly different from what happens at the top tier management. Hence, it could be detrimental to the organisation in the longer run.

In addition to this, having a morally upright stance implies that the leader has taken a holisitic approach in solving organisational problems and has done ample research to arrive at his current decision. This method may not been line with the requirements of his peers but the leader would have seen the pros and cons of the problem and then arrived at the decision. By this technique, he has considered the decisions of his colleagues, garnering their respect.

However, the moral character of an individual is questionable and subjective. Some months ago, YesBank, one of India's top private banks filed for bankruptcy. Earlier the organisation had two leaders at the top of the pyramid. The other person was keeping a check on the judgements of the other owner and protecting the company from committing any blunders. But after the demise of the latter, the avaracious intentions of the first person took the company downhill. Clearly by maintaining the respect and acceptance of his peer, the company was heading in the right direction. So, it is neccesary to avoid parochial approach when arriving at company decisions. The leader needs to be open to suggestions and criticisms which in turn determines his efficiency.

Hence, the ideal leadership listens to his coworkers to arrive at the correct decision which is morally sound and has been backed up and respected by his colleagues.