Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

An excellent leader is someone who can tackle any situation, no matter how hard it is.

A leader is someone who takes everyone along with him/her and treats everyone equally. If a leader doesn't sound good then, that can make a direct impact on his to her reputation. Being amiable to everyone helps peers to be comfortable with the leader. Trying to understand the problem and helping to solve it is one of the main characteristics of a leader. A leader should always come forward in hard times and help his or her peers to solve the problem. Being harsh to peers in a difficult situation will only make the situation worst. Therefore, it's important for a leader to assess the situation and come up with some solid solutions to solve the problem.

Respecting his/her peers is also an important characteristic of a leader, but just respecting does not help anyone in a difficult situation. If a leader respects his or her peers, it shows that he or she has good moral values, but in no way it shows that he or she is a good leader.

The following could be the best example for the above argument:

A company received a request from a client to deliver a feature in a week. Provided that the work to be done is more and the workforce in a company is less, the leader should come forward to help his or her peers and try to calm down everyone and don't try to put pressure on them.

Hence, sound moral judgment is a much more important characteristic of an effective leader than maintaining the respect of his or her peers.