Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

A leader's ability to make sound moral judgements disparages the ability to maintain respect among his/her peers.

Four animals - The lion, the baboon, an elephant and a squirrel were all stuck in an island. They were in need of two resources - food to survive, and a leader to manage.

When it was time to elect the leaders, the lion roared in dominion, for it is the king of the jungle. It felt that with the respect garnered, he would make an effective leader. But the squirrel had a clever idea. A leader a day, for four days, and the best of the four will be elected as the leader. After the four days, the winner of the election was the squirrel. A temporary leap from this figurative story to our reality poses an important question. Is it the respect that makes one an effective leader?

The answer is a startling no. It is not just the ability to maintain respect among peers, but predominantly the ability to make sound moral judgements. Respect follows when a leader makes good judgements at the right time. The lion has been around the jungle for years, maintaining just the respect. Nobody bothered to look at the squirrel. But its ability to think through a convoluted problem, and propose a universal solution made it an effective leader.

It is possible that a leader who is well-respected has more influence than a leader whose characteristic is just making sound judgements. With that magnitude of influence, it is possible to solve world-crisis when a nation/country is under havoc. The leader, through his influence, can easily import resources from his friend nations/countries across the globe.

Even in the above scenario, the well-respected leader has made a sound judgement by contacting his friend when chaos ensued.

All in all, the ability to make sound judgements overpowers the respect garnered by a leader.