Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Having good moral judgement is the perfect indication of one's character. Leaders are chosen by the people, for the people. The leader's job is to choose the correct path for the group and take correct decisions, which may or may not be acceptable to the group at the first impression. On the other hand, an extremely righteous and morally sound leader having who doesn't have any respect from their peers can lead no one. People don't listen to others if they don't respect them. Therefore, there is no black and white answer to the given statement. There is a need for a delicate balance of both, a sound moral judgement as well as the ability to maintain respect of peers.

Since time immemorial, there have been many leaders who commanded utmost respect from their peers, but were morally deranged. One of the most infamous such leaders is Adolf Hitler. His reign of terror during the period of World War is testament to his ability to lead people effectively. He won many battles and inspired Germans to an unprecedented degree. However, does that make him a 'good leader'. In every history book that we read nowadays, Hitler is a name that is only met with contempt and disdain. He is remembered as one of the worst leaders of all time, who was responsible for the mass genocide of Jews. The heinous crimes that Hitler and his peers, the Nazi Party, committed serve as the perfect example of why just the ability to command respect from your peers is not the only thing that makes a good leader. It can rather make the worst leader if their moral judgement is corrupted.

Furthermore, a leader that is not able to command respect from his peers is no leader at all. One such example is former Prime Minister of India, Mr. Manmohan Singh. There has never been a prime minister as laconic and dull as Manmohan Singh. He never brought about any radical changes in the government, nor did he ever give a single speech that comes close to speeches given by leaders like Barack Obama or Narendra Modi, who have the whole nation's respect in their palms and drive a stream of inspiration with every word. As a result of the lack of respect, even today, people call Mr Manmohan Singh as a puppet prime minister of the Congress party and he is not remembered as a good leader.

At the same time, when Narendra Modi became the Prime Minister of India, his policies were met with a lot of criticism in the beginning. There were protests regarding each and every policy that he brought about. But being a good leader, he did not sway from his resolve and went ahead with his policies regardless. Now, after 5 years, people have nothing but praise for his policies. Even the naysayers have become his followers now.

Therefore it is very important to assess what is the definition of a 'good leader'. The answers to such broad questions are hardly ever straightforward. But looking at our history, we can definitely observe that the 'good leaders' always struck a balance between sound moral judgement and maintaining the respect of their peers. There are times when a leader's peers might oppose his/her views. But taking the morally right decision, even if it's against what the peers think, can turn out to inspire the peers in the long run. If the decision proves propitious to the objective, then no matter how much opposition was raised in the beginning, it will transform into respect at the end.