Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

The mark of a good leader is, simply put, their ability to lead their peers. Successful leading can only come from respect, which hasn't necessarily to do with morality. An effective leader often uses their discretionary powers to gauge whether a certain situation calls for sound moral judgement, by honing in on the best (most rewarding and least harmful) path to be taken by the group they're in charge of.

Say a [good, just] leader finds themselves in a dilemma, wherein they must kick one of their peers out of the group upon finding out that the peer had secretly planned to stage a coup against them. This course of action would indubitably lead to the rest of the group losing all respect for the leader, given that the leader reveals feeling threatened by a peer's potential plotting. However, the leader has an alternative, wherein they turn their head the other way and instead of confronting the peer in question, simply call a group meeting to assert their power and restore peace, thereby making it known to the others that if they try something underhanded, they would risk their position in the group. This is sure to resonate with the group, and while fear-induced respect is not ideal, it is always an option when faced with a moral dilemma of this scale.

Respect is a strong force, and cannot be demanded but must be earned. That is something leaders often forget, and so, if a leader uses their decision-making abilities in a way that aligns with the group's ideals but doesn't necessarily reflect the most philosphically moral ideas, they are bound to receive peer respect. Oftentimes, peers under an umbrella of group norms share similar values and view respect in a common way. They are likelier to readily provide their leader with respect if they sense that the leader is performing their duties in a manner that is in the group's best interests, regardless of the underlined moral implications of those duties.

This is not to say that a leader should altogether disregard morals, and portray deceitful, cowardly, bossy behaviour for personal gain paying no heed to the difference between right and wrong. That would, first of all, be the quickest way to lose the respect of their peers, which would hence prove counterintuitive to their respect-earning mission. Overall, one is bequeathed the title of leader because their judgement is trusted by the bequeather of the same. That trust allows the leader room for independent judgement, and they in turn are determined to carry out their role to the best of their abilities. It is a win-win system designed to keep everyone happy.