The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

The writer states in his article that illegal immigrants pose a threat to a nation's economy and national identity. He goes further to state that the numbers of illegal immigrants entering the country are not properly checked. However, before the argument can be properly evaluated, some specific evidence to substantiate the writer's assumptions must be provided.

First, the writer claims that there are no specific measures currently in place to check the number of illegal immigrants entering the country and efforts are not being made to return them to their country of origin. He fails to provide supportive evidence to bolster this claim. For example, the united states are actively putting measures in place to curb the issue of illegal immigration on its texas and San Diego borders. The department of immigration painstakingly conducts adequate measures - from carrying out background checks on individuals before issuing their visas and further singling out individuals before they are granted entry into the country - in checking the problem of illegal immigration. If the efforts being made by the country's immigration department are instrumental in curbing these measures, the writer's assumptions that these problems are not being checked is flawed.

Secondly, the writer further claims that illegal immigrants pose threats to a nation's economy and national identity but lacks adequate information to substantiate this claim. The "threats" referred to by the author is very vague as it could mean a number of things. For instance, the writer may be claiming that there has been an observed increase in crime rates and is subsequently attributing this increase to the presence of a more diverse nationality within that community. There may however be other reasons for the increase in crime rates - drop in police presence, economic changes. If evidence is provided as does not correlate with the writer's claim that the ilegal immigrants are responsible for the prevailing economic situation, the argument would be fla

In conclusion, the argument has it stands is fundamentally flawed as the writer fails to provide more insights into how illegal immigrants are solely to blame for a nation's dwindling economy. The writer can provide more information as to how the current measure put in place by the nation's immigration is insufficient in addressing this problem.