Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

Science and technology have been the backbone for substantial growth and development within our society. A plethora of problems -communication, banking, transportation- have been checked by the advent of science and technology. However, it would be presumptuous to state that all of society's problems would one day be eradicated by science and technology.

Firstly, there are perennial problems within society that would simply be impossible to solve with science and technology alone. Certain societies and communities have been battling with issues of racism for as long as we can remember. While institutions and organizations have developed measures in place to check this long-standing issue, science and technology may be seem hamstrung in dealing with this problem. I have been a personal victim of racism in the past and while I ponder on ways in which we can properly address this issue, science and technology do not play a significant role. It is difficult to comprehend how science and technology would stop a racist white man from using derogative terms at people of color.

Furthermore, while there are several societal problems that have been notably solved by science and technology, however, there are certain problems that are being sprung up with the use of these innovations. Social media has played a vital role in the development of our society but some specific problems have arisen due to their use. The proliferation of fake news and internet-stalking is one of the few problems that have to be addressed with the advent of social media.

While many would argue that science and technology have made life seamless by solving many problems within society, it is worthy to note there are certain societal problems that simply cannot be solved with science and technology.

In conclusion, while we may hope for innovations in science and technology to be a panacea for our issues within society, it simply is impossible for all our problems to be solved by science and technology.