A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Schooling plays a major role in a child's life. It the stepping stone that leads them to later, eventually participate in the society. What a student learns during those days before enter they coleage is based on a stipulated curriculum. The curriculum directs what subjects and what parts of that subject to familiarize a child with.

Having a common curriculum nationwide I believe will prove be more disadvantageous than advantageous. In smaller nations regulating a common curriculum may be easier. But in some larger countries there are several states and each state has a distinguishing factor that separates it from the other states. Thus, there are regional differences which are prevalent. These differences can even extend to language and cultural differences. In such a case imposing a common curriculum for subjects like languages, history, geography will be detrimental. Each region should priotize teaching their students their own regional language, history, geography.

Example would be countries like India and China. India has a vastly diverse culture. The food, clothes, language, history, climate of each region is unique and hence limiting the students to the same national curriculum takes away the opportunity to maintain this diverseness.

But indeed there are some subjects like math, science which are universal. They are region independent. These types of subjects can have a fixed curriculum to maintain a common standard of education across the country so that when they enter college each student has common base knowledge.

Moreover, there may be some students who may have some disability be it a learning disability or physical disability, the curriculum for such students with special needs should be given special attention to. Their curriculum should be based on their capablities and should not try to impose the same education methods as a common student on them.

Thus, we can say that it varies from nation to nation as to what type of quality education they want to impart to their students. But the fact that not all students are the same, each student is unique should be kept in mind instead of trying to put them in a cookie cutter mould. While some students may be good at creative subjects some may be better at academic subjects. Each student should be paid attention to and allowed to grow. As long as this is well satisfied a nation can conduct some research to see what is best for them.