The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Well for the development of sociecty, in accordance with peace and harmony requires a great leader who speaks for their people. As said by a great scholar "No one is a born leader, its the quality inculcated over time". A great leader is the one willing to sacrifice his needs for the betterment of others and is cooperative by listening to his people and understanding what they need. Although having a sence of cooperation is a necessary quality for a leader but not having competitive feeling's in them is something i would disagree with.

History has seen many great leaders across the globe, and clearly depits that a great leader is combination of both the qualities, if a leader is not competitive then it would be the case when every other peron would want to be a leader or vice versa, inspite the fact being that such quality is cherished only by a few. As a person who is competitive for there position is always concerend about his/hers people wellfare. For example Indian history has seen many kings ruling a kindgom they were cooperative towards their people at the same time they were competitive with the kings from diffrent kingdom which made them to work with more dedication towards there duties.

Maximum part of the world today is democratic, where people get to choose their own leaders by the process of election, in which multiple political parties comprising of many leaders compete for votes, and the one with highest number of votes win's.

For such a situation it is necessary for a leader to be competitive so that people may not elect the opponent leader.Similay is the case with industries and other fields if the leader is not cooperative with his/her fellow workers, then he is not worth being a leader. Secondly if he is not competitive in nature it would be difficult to compete in the market with the leaders from different industries, and if this is the case then industries development and growth is hampered.

Recently a article in the newspaper stated an incidence about a senior manager from a well reputed company got fired reason being he was not able to produce result as good as the other competitor companies, although the articel clearly mentioed about how cooperative he was with the other employees. Thus I would like to summarize by saing that, it is the willingness of a person a to person to be a leader and not something that one can be taught, also a great leader is a proper combination of both sence of cooperation and competition thus its better to prepare young people for leadership with both these qualities.