The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Some might argue that in a bid to prepare its youths for leadership in various fields of discipline, the society should instill in such youths a sense of cooperation rather than competition. Others, however, might posit that in order to effectively prepare its young people for leadership positions, a sense of competition should be instlled instead of a sense of cooperation. After weighing various evidences, I believe that a society will be better placed to experience stellar leadership if a sense of cooperation, rather than competition is instlled in its youths.

First, cooperation helps in uniting everyone towards a common goal. This ensures that adequate strength is built to ensure success, especially when the enemy is a common enemy. In many African countries, there are prevalent errors in various parastatals of leadership; these are a result of nepotism that has pervaded the system. Many maladroit individuals are placed in significant positions of power not as a result of their abilities, but as a result of their relationship with higher ranking individuals in the system. This leads to a situation whereby the system is rigged to favour a select few who have chosen to selfishly cling on to power. This problem can, however, be solved if cooperation is instilled in youths while preparing them for leadership positions, and therefore unite them while facing a common enemy - nepotism - that has pervaded the system.

Moreover, studies have shown that youths are able to learn better by cooperating. This is mainly due to the fact that cooperation emphasizes the inherent individual weaknesses of the youths, and therefore complements the weakness of one with the strength of the other. In a typical graduate study program in the United States, students are grouped into teams during the beginning of their programs. One important consideration while grouping students is the varying skillset and strengths of individuals in the team. This approach brings out the best of the various individuals in the team by affording them the opportunity to learn better.

However, some might argue that a system that instills competition in its youths enables them to be on their toes when they assume leadership positions. This school of thought relies on the assumption that the youths will be motivated to do better than their counterparts by being competitive. Although this might be valid in some cases, it will not hold if these youths do not have a common goal. If these competitive efforts are channelled to opposite causes, the sole purpose of achieving desired outcome becomes mired by conflict of interest.

In conclusion, cooperation rather than competition should be instilled in youths while prpearing them for leadership po