An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The government is recommended to do everything it can to promote the new breed of millet. This recommendation is based on the premise that the deficiency of vitamin A experienced by the people of Tagus is a direct result of feeding on the old breed of millet. In order to evaluate this recommendation correctly, three questions need to be answered.

First and foremost, is the old breed of millet a causal agent of the vitamin deficiency experienced by the people of Tagus? It is likely that there is an underlying cause for this vitamin deficiency. There may be prevalent cases of disproportionate and unbalanced diet in Tagus households with vitamin A being in relatively smaller quantities than is required by the human body system. Perhaps the people of Tagus engage in certain activities that accelerate the depletion of vitamin A in their body systems. If answers are provided to the above question, then a proper evaluation of the recommendation can be made. In the event that the scenarios described above are true, then the recommendation is significantly flawed.

On a second note, the farmers' mode of farming presents a serious question. Are the farmers predominantly subsistence farmers? Do they farm for solely commercial purposes or they mainly export their produce? It is possible that, although millet is a staple crop in Tagus, most of the millet produced are actually exported to other countries because only a minute part of the population eat millet which might just be a food for a specific population. Perhaps, millet is a food crop rich in nutrients that aid the growth of teeth in infants, and therefore only few adults eat it. If the above is true, in which case only a small part of the population eats millet, then the recommendation does not hold water.

Furthermore, is the new breed of millet free from adverse qualities? Although the new breed might be very much higher in vitamin A than the old breed, it is probable that it contains some constituents that might be inimical to the human system. It is possible that a compound which can cause allergic reactions were introduced to facilitate the engineering of the new breed of millet. There is a need for answers to be provided to the aforementioned question in order for a succinct evaluation to be carried out on the recommendation.

Conclusively, if answers are not provided to the questions above, then the recommendation cannot be properly evaluated.