Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Consider the case of software company which is headed by an incompetent CEO who has been serving his position since 6 years. The company hasn’t been doing well, with its stock market share value plummeting daily. The CEO has been remiss in his duties and wanting in his leadership values since long. There isn’t a rule which mandates the CEO to step down after a fixed tenure, and hence he continues to stay in position for as long as he desires. It is easy to see that the doomsday of this software firm wouldn’t be too far. What does the firm most direly need at this point of time? Clearly, it needs saviour in the form of a new leader that can save it from the impending doom.

It is cases like above which highlight the importance of the existing leader stepping down. The people whom the leader serves must have the discretion to be able to choose another representative if the incumbent leader isn’t able to drive his people in the prosperous direction, or choose the same leader again, as desired. The new leader, of course, should be given time to prove his mettle, but there must an end to that period, say 5 years. After his tenure comes to an end, a new leader must be elected who can turn things around for the good. Why this process is imperative is particularly highlighted in the case of Congress government which governed India for two consecutive terms of 5 years. That tenure was marked by ignominious scams and a titular prime minister. The people of India, disaffected by the government ultimately brought into power another leader. This wouldn’t have been possible had the incumbent leader been given unrestrained power to stay in service for as long as he wished. The new leadership revitalised the Indian economy, which was long due.

A new leader brings fresh perspective of things at hand. Since every individual is bestowed with a different acumen, he is able to look at things with a different eye. This particularly is beneficial when the existing leadership doesn’t look too propitious. In the absence of a law that allows the people to be able to choose a new leader after a fixed tenure, the existing leader can misuse his power and run things according to his volition, unconcerned by how it is received by his followers. This can evidently be seen in the case of North Korea, whose leader is one of the most notorious dictators. North Korea is now perceived as one of the least liveable country, owing to the oppressive laws created by its leader. This perception of the country is unlikely to change without a change of leadership.

It is not always the case that a new leader should be chosen only when the current leadership fails to achieve the set goals. Consider the example of a school which is being run by the same principal since 5 years, who has served her duties well, projecting the school on a national platform. In such a case, this principal being replaced by another principal, chosen on the basis of merit would only lead to proliferation of leaders. She can guide the new leader, impart her skills and train her to become equally good or even better. This would lead to two competitive leaders in the same school instead of one. This cycle can continue wherein the skills are efficiently and progressively imparted to new people, leading to multiple leaders. The leaders who step down can even choose to serve in other domains where their leadership might be even more valued.

A new person, anyday brings new skills and values to the table, owing to his experience, acumen and primarily due to the fact that each individual has something unique to offer. The people who choose their leaders must be able to choose another one after a fixed tenure. Of course they can choose to re-elect the same leader if they wish. This flexibility will ensure that the success of a firm, be it business, education, or government firm is not hampered, and new talent is valued.