Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

A scandal rips a society of its sanity. It squelches the mental peace of the citizens of any society which the scandal impacts. It weakens the trust a society places in its government, hence putting all the governmental activities under a lens of suspicion, which is detrimental to the functioning of any society. Saying that a scandal is “useful” just because it focuses our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could is simply going too far. The misery a scandal causes outweighs the number loopholes it exposes. Surely, a scandal does throw light upon the open gaps in a society’s governance, but saying that it is useful just because it brings to focus unprecedented problems in the society is not justified. This is because a scandal brings along with it communal anger, hopelessness and distrust in the government, which might get ossified over time. This is not healthy for any society, any day.

Often times a scandal is also blown out of proportion. This is because such news travels at a lightning speed through a chain of humans and media which might lead to distortion of the actual facts. This distortion does nothing apart from serving as a source of entertainment to the masses. This distortion serves no useful purpose, apart from playing with the minds of the public and making a mountain out of a molehill.

Consider the scandal caused by Vijay Mallya, an Indian business tycoon, who looted money from the Indian soil and escaped the nation overnight. This scandal caught the scornful public eye. A feeling of anger and resentment engulfed the tax paying general public whose hard earned money was looted. This scandal sprouted a distrust in its own government in the minds of a million Indians. This distrust has only ossified overtime, courtesy the numerous scandals that followed.

There are healthier and more efficient ways of brainstorming about possible problems that might be impending, than waiting for a scandal to burst. Thorough research about the existing ways of governmental functioning and the current management of things is one such way. It is incumbent upon our leaders, for example analysts and researchers, to investigate and analyse what loopholes the current society might have. These loopholes might one day be exploited by scammers to loot money or cause identity theft. It behooves the leaders of a society that these loopholes are amended and the open gaps in the day to day functioning of the society are filled to preclude any such mishappening.

Scandals do bring forth the prevailing loopholes of a society, but leave an indelible blemish that forever questions if the precious resources of a society are actually being put to good use, even when they are. In order to focus our attention on unprecedented problems waiting to be solved, we must focus on research and analysis and not rely on a scandal to make headlines someday.