Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Leadership in all fields is important as it is charged with the responsibility to guide an enterprise through difficult times. As a result, the issue of how to ensure the quality of leadership is not a trivial one in society. Some people suggest that. leaders should resign after five years as the success of one organization is dependent on its revitalization via the change of leadership. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the viewpoint and I will present two points to support my argument. However, I concede that in some extreme cases, the stagnant leadership sometimes has some negative consequences.

First of all, when it comes to leading an enterprise in one field, experience matters a lot. The experience of leadership includes the ability to rise to challenges under stress, expertise in managing all departments, and a good understanding of allocating resources. The change of leadership within the limit of five years has a negative impact as leaders start to accumulate their experience only to be replaced by other people. It is a huge loss for an enterprise to replace someone with a great experience. Thus, it is not uncommon for a leader in one field to hold power for a long period of time. For instance, at the realm of business, Gerry Guo, the CEO of a Taiwanese Semiconductors company, has been in power for over four decades, leveraged his experience in business and electrical engineering to oversee the growth of the company. Replacing leadership to revitalize an enterprise after five years do harm on a company as it takes time for a leader to groom and accumulate experience.

Secondly, frequent transfer of power impedes the progess of one enterprise. For instance, in the field of business, many goals which take several years to realize are set up by the leadership of one company. If the leadership were to be replaced after five years, then the growth of one company is hobbled as long-term goals are no longer viable because when new leaders rise up, they may have blueprint for the success of their companies and refuse to continue progress made by previous leadership. This phenomenon is not limited to the realm of business. It can also be observed in politics as it is common for newly-elected politicians to reject the idea of extending policies which are proposed and implemented by their predecessors. As a result, frequent change of leadership tend to hinder progress of one enterprise.

However, in some extreme cases, the stagnant state of leadership has a negative influence on an enterprise as it might be difficult for a company to seek accountability of its leadership. Take politics, for instance. It is not surprising news when an autocracy got overthrown, the malfeasance took place under the regime, such as bribery or suppression of the opposition, got exposed to the public the first time as the public has no ways to ask for the responsibility of its leader who serves for a long time. Consequently, the revitalization of leadership is important for the success of one enterprise. However, I posit that frequent change of power is inadequate as it suffers the loss of talent of experienced leaders and engenders instability in one enterprise.