Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

A society is not a singular entity, but rather a multidimensional, multi-layer model. To comprehend the complexities of society, we must study the diverse characteristics of the people that comprise the society in addition to the study of heroes and role models that society chooses as its role models. I disagree with the given claim mainly because of two reasons: other diverse sets of factors that the author fails to consider, and the generalization of character from a single person (heroes or role models) to the entire society as a whole.

First, the society is made of people of different religions, race, and ethnicity, their languages, traditions, beliefs, and history vary to the extent that one should not overlook. Studying the people's traditions, festivals they celebrate, gods they believe in, and their moral principles gives a clear understanding of the social and spiritual aspects of the society. By closely examining the focus and determination to the importance of education, politics, and adherence to the laws of the nation, one can get insights into the economical, educational and political characteristics of the society, as well as how progressive the people of the society are.

Secondly, heroes and role models, though undoubtedly represent a brief overview of the morals that the society sees as its highest, are just individuals like any other person from that society, and cannot give a complete picture of the society's character. As an example, Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, one of the great scientists and former president of India, was indeed an honest man who thrived to grow India as a nation at every opportunity he got. He was a humble person, compassionate towards poor, and role model for the youth then and even now. Does this mean that all the people from various groups of the Indian society have all these characteristics? Certainly, not. Similarly, take an example of a leader the people elected because of his fake appearance of a good personality. Any character flow or wickedness of this leader does not represent the people who elected him or her.

Lastly, heroes and role models of the society may have none of the characteristics because of which the society chooses them as an idol. Movie stars are considered heroes in almost every society the world over. It is true that a large group of people is involved in idealizing these celebrities if not all. However, the character they play in a movie, no matter good or evil, does not reflect the characteristics of that society.

In the view of the above, it can be concluded that probing the character heroes and role models of the society gives only a facade of the myriad aspects to understand the society as a whole. In order to get a full picture of the society and its people, one must study social, spiritual, economical, political, educational factors, and history

of the various groups of people that comprise that society.