Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Choosing a field of study is daunting enough for a student and making the decision to pursue a field is not an easy one. The prompt claims that educational institutions should take up the responsibility to identify if a student is likely to succeed in a field and if he is not likely, dissuade him from pursuing that field. While I think that educational institutions do have some responsibility, it is not to the extent of supplanting the students individual decision. Hence, I disagree with the prompt for two reasons.

In most cases, everyone goes to school as a child. A student learns basics in school like arithmetic, science, social studies and so on that we require to understand the world in a better context than we would otherwise. It is right through the student’s childhood days that he grows up with an intention to pursue a career, however absurd it may be. He could even think of inventing technology flying through space in a robotic suit. It is from here that he would start to learn the practicalities of the world, the rules governing them and take a decision to pursue a career closest to his dream. An educational institution or a teacher does not know what his dreams are or where the student’s interests lie. In the case that the teacher paid attention to some funny drawings that he drew as a child, she might know but still does not know or care as much as the student’s parents or the student himself. So if a teacher recommends that the student not pursue a field without knowing the full extent of his abilities and interests, it is in most cases, likely to backfire on the student’s future.

In contrast, if the educational institution does have the ability to gauge a student’s abilities and interests to a high extent, then they could definitely point out the student’s strong point and weak points perhaps through a SWOT analysis(strong, weakness, opportunity, threat), the student can make a decision himself as to which field he wants to pursue. The extent of the influence that an educational institution has to offer should be just a recommendation to not pursue rather than a strong objection to pursue the field.

Moreover, there are examples of students who at first seemingly fail in their future career but actually succeed in their decision later on in life. Take Mark Zuckerberg for instance. The now Facebook CEO and one of the tech giants of the planet was a dropout in college. He might not have had his career planned out from the start i.e, his college days and seems unlikely to succeed in the view of the institution and his professors. So if the institution or his professors dissuaded him from the beginning to pursue his choice, and he trusted their recommendation, we would not have Facebook today.

In sum, a student’s decision to pursue a career of his choice should not influenced to a huge extent but there could be ‘gentle nudges’ by the educational institutions to pave a better path for the student’s life in the world.