An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The international development organization has proposed that the government of Tagus should promote a new breed of millet to cure vitamin A deficiency. The support they give is that millet is already a staple food in Tagus and people should readily adopt the new breed. Also, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety. However, a few questions need to be answered for the recommendation.

Firstly, the organization mentions that they engineered a new breed of millet that abounds in vitamin A. But what are the side effects of this new breed of millet? The organization does not enlighten us with the side effects of the new breed. Normally, when something is engineered, meaning made in a lab, the probability of it having more number of side effects than curable effects is high. It could also be that the breed cures vitamin A deficiency for a fleeting period but then revitalizes the problem to even severe extent. If the above does hold true, then the recommendation does not hold water.

Secondly, millet is already a staple food in the Tagus. If the millet is already that's consumed on a regular basis by the people, then why is the village still suffering from Vitamin A deficiency? The new breed is also engineered from a base sample of the original millet. If the organization claims that the new breed is able to cure the deficiency, then chances are the original sample of millet must have properties that are capable of curing the problem. However, the original version of millet is unable to do so. If the original version of millet, being a staple food, cannot cure vitamin A deficiency, the probability of newer breed curing it is likely to be very less. Endangering the masses (with the side effects of new millet) for such a probability along with high charges doesn't seem fit. If the above does hold true, the recommendation needs to be reconsidered.

Lastly, if millet is a staple food in Tagus, then its likely that it's grown in the region. Then why is it that for something that's regional, the seeds for the new type of millet should be costly to the very population that grow the millet? For a newer breed to be made, the very basis of its generation is the original seeds of millet. If the original breed is available profusely for mass production, there is no need for it to be costly. Especially it shouldn't be costly to the very people who grow it. If the above does hold true, then the recommendation is considerably flawed.

As of now, the recommendation is considerably flawed in its foundation. Perhaps if the international organization can give the side effects of the new millets by thorough tests on suitable subjects before deploying them in Tagus, then based on the results obtained from that study, further recommendations can be made. Also, the international organization should give clarification regarding the extra charges for the millet.