Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: The surest indicator of a great nation is actually the welfare of all its people.

The statement claim that the achievements of the rulers, artists and scientists achievements are not the surest indicator of a great nation, the surest indicator is acutally the welfare of all its people. I agree with this claim insofar as a nation's greatness is measured by the inhabitants economic, social, cultural and democratic values, not the greates achievements of this nations scientists, leader or artists. The greatness is considered by the holistic condition of the inhabitants of this nation. However, individual achievements of scientists, artists and the leaders are also creat a great impact of this nation toword the worlds that emphasized the nation's value.

First compelling argument on favor of my position is a nation will be great toword the world when they can mitigate all basic needs, their education system will be world class and ensire quality of life. For example, if a country can appease their inhabitants basic needs then it is more likely that the nation wil be healtheir and happy is the indicator of the great nation.

Another agrument is the welfare if all the people confirm the social equality. There will no disparate between poor and rich and this will make this nation economic condition much better that can help to be a role model all over the world. For instance, if the people of any country are get opportunities equally then they can contribute equally. They can get education facillaty equally will help to reduce the illiterature rate. This can make the nation great.

Moreover, the welfare of all the people of the nation will emphasize the democratic value of the people. They can produce innovative ideas that can help to increase the development. Everyone can get the maximum access of the resources. This will sustain in long term and the legacy will be more strong and innovative will help to make the nation great.

However, individual achievement of the scientists, engineers, leaders or artists also create the positive impact toword the world. In a country, it is very difficult to confirm all peoples health, economic and other needs. And this can not be the indicator of all times. Sometimes it is measured the achievements of the nations. And the major achievements are come form the top most society like engineer, doctor, artist, scientist or leader. It can be the example of others and get praise. This can be the indicator of a great nation.

In conclusion, it is mostly necessary to the welfare of all people to be a great nation but it is not a only indicator. Individual achievement of it's rulers, artists or scientists also can be indicator to be a great. Great person come from the great nation and their achievements are also emphasize the nation greatness. In generally when all people of the nation's will get good opportunities in all sectors then the great person like a scientist, leader or artist are come form this nation and their achievements are help to be the great.