Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education is one of the most important aspects of a person's life. Although it is true that getting an education is a privilege, the ones who do get the opportunity to get a proper, formal education should not be so flippant as to throw it away. Formal education shapes our minds. It helps us become erudite people. I disagree with the notion in question that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free. I give three reasons for the same in the following paragraphs.

The first reason is that formal education has a fixed outline. There is preschool, then grades 1 through 12, then undergrad and, if necessary, postgrad. It is uniform; it is the same for everyone. We know empirically that many great minds were learned. Be it professors, scholars or authors. Whatever people decide to do in their lives, education forms a major part of it. Since there is uniformity, everyone can learn the basics. If, for instance, someone decides that school is too restrictive and they want to pursue other passions, then good for them. Education is not compulsory. But in most cases, when people have no idea what to do and are in a state of total consternation about what to do with their lives, this fixed outline of education system helps them. It guides them. If we say that in order to set the mind free, we should stop sending children to school, then chaos will ensue. Many of them will not know what to do.

The next point is about what exactly is being studied in an education system. There are the basics- english, mathematics, sciences and social sciences. Some may say that the syllabus consists of mostly rote learning and is not helping in shaping their minds. It is quite a valid point, but we also need to focus on the fact that repetition helps retention. Those long hours spent in learning math formulas may seem like a waste of time, but it actually isn't. If the person goes on to become a connoisseur of algorithmic sciences, they would have to agree that atleast some part of their early formal education was useful. The rote learning came through.

Furthermore, in regards to the mind and spirit being free, I would have to say that formal education is, in no form, a hindrance. There are so many philosophies in the world. The world has seen great thinkers like Aristotle, Socrates, Plato, Kant. Each would, atleast in part, agree that they were free spirits. They did not follow the guidelines set by the society. They followed their truth. It was because they were learned and scholarly. Even if some of them may not have taken up formal education like today's schools, they would have definitely studied various subjects that interest them. The point is, whether or not a person gets an education, they are free to think on their own. Education does not hold us back from thinking freely.

One may argue that fixed syllabi will hinder individualistic thinking. But it is important to understand that formal education gives a base on which ideas are molded. Thus, I reiterate my stance by stating that formal education does not restrain our minds or spirits rather than set them free.