Claim: Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity.

Reason: Because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts.

It is hard to know the exact veracity in the past, the remaining documents and some artifacts will give hints. It is conceded that the imagination sometimes is required to infer the situation of the past when the document doesn't record the details; however, I believe it is possible to realize the history in a more physical way rather than complete reconstruction with imagination, which may be conflict against the truth.

Along with the development of technology, people have more ability to infer the truth by computational modeling or scanning. It is largely helpful for expertise to exam the historical documents, remains, and sites. Taking the pyramids in Egypt as an example, scientists can rebuild the model by computer based on the remains of the pyramids, and the ancients' living habits and lifestyles can be inferred by the materials building structure of pyramids. Although this speculation involves partial imagination; however, comparing to the complete reconstruction, the scientific analysis based on real historical things is much closer to the truth.

Besides the historical sites, the documents, such as historical photos and biography of some great person, offer the details and describe the environments at the generation. People can logically learn the events that happened at the time. One of the most common records in the documents is wars. Although wars are the saddest thing in the world, there are many photos and videos recorded by journalists at the time. In addition, the biographies written by the people who experienced the war tell the details of the events. These are helpful to people nowadays to understand the facts in a more straightforward way.

By the invention of some technology, creativity and imagination are required for people to infer the historical situation. Nowadays, computation skills and photography are the way bringing individuals closer to history and the truth. The scientific way can interpret the data and the document more clearly and logically than the reconstruction based on imagination.