Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Over the past few decades, universities' tuition fee has been rising at a rapid rate. Upon graduation, students find themselves under the burden of massive debts. The prompt claims that every student must pick a number of diverse subjects outside the student's major in order to become "truly" educated. However, I mostly disagree with the prompt because of two reasons, which I will elucidate below.

First of all, education, like I mentioned earlier, is becoming costlier and costlier with each passing day that puts students in huge debts. Almost all universities charge tuition per credit hour. Spending money, or rather wasting money, on studying subjects that are unrelated to one's major is not a propitious thing to do for many students. For example, if a student's major is computer science, then a university forcing that student to do courses on, say political science sounds way off, if not absurd. Forcing a student to take impertinent courses in the name of exposing them to diverse courses is only bound to frustrate rather than making him/her "truly" educated. Also, how would you define "truly" educated? It is highly subjective to say at least. For me, if one knows very well the stuff related to one's field or discipline one is pursuing, I would consider that person truly educated.

Secondly, if a student has identified his/her interest in a particular field of study, then being forced by universities to take other courses would only serve to distract the student from achieving his/her goals. That student would have to devote his/her valuable time on studying subjects he/she is not interested in rather than focusing on subjects he/she is truly passionate about. If such a thing as claimed by the prompt is implemented at universities, then possibly some students might even give up on their studies, let alone being "truly" educated individuals. And I don't think universities would want that to happen to their students.

However, I do concede that there are certain scenarios where encouraging students to pursue diverse courses initially might be an auspicious step. Exploring a diverse set of courses would better help students in finding their true interest and passion. But even in this case, universities should only encourage, not force them to take diverse courses.

In conclusion, I would like to say that universities should consider the caveats mentioned earlier before implementing anything claimed by the prompt. The ramifications far outweigh any potential benefits that the claim might have on the lives of students.