Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The topic raises the controversial issue of whether educators should consider students' interests and recommendations while planning the course. Indisputably, students are always not aware of the scope and the future of the courses, and some pupils tend to avoid complex topics. Nevertheless, taking students' suggestions, while preparing the course plan, will make them motivated and enthusiastic to study and thus achieve good grades and come up with some novel ideas. Therefore, I mostly agree with the assertion that instructors should take students' points when designing the courses.

First of all, while studying a subject, students need motivation and enthusiasm. To illustrate, if a student finds the course contents boring and unmotivated, he might not want to attend class; as a result, he will not achieve the expected grades in that course. However, if the class contains courses that the students find interesting and captivating, they will enthusiastically attend the class and thus attain decent grades.

Furthermore, if the courses are planned according to the students' suggestions, students will be more interested in conducting research in that subject. For example, a new course regarding robotics will be taught to students, but the course does not contain anything but lab work. In this scenario, students may not find this course motivating and productive. If the course had been planned according to students' interests, students would suggest adding lab work, which will help them be more utilitarian in the future. And, they might invent new theories and ideas.

Admittedly, students are always not aware of the scope and the future of the subjects. In this case, if their suggestions are taken, while implementing the course, that will be devastating. In addition, some students prefer to avoid elusive subjects, as hard subjects can be a nightmare for them to understand and get a perfect score on the test. Considering this situation, taking suggestions from the students may inhibit the actual learning of a subject.

In conclusion, although there are some impediments: lacking students' knowledge about the scope of the subject and proclivity of avoiding hard subjects, the teachers should consider students' interests and recommendations to prepare the courses because students then will be motivated to that courses and make a promising contribution in their job fields and own life as well. In fact, they will find more interest in those courses and prefer to do higher study.