Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

For the future career of the students, outline of courses are very important to keep them up to date with the present necessary knowledge relating to a course. The assertion that educators should take suggestions from students while planning a course is a debatable topic. I partially disagree with the assertion for the following two reasons.

Firstly, courses planned by educators are part of the formal education system open to all types of people. The outlines of these courses are planned to provide a general knowledge about a subject to students keeping in mind the present advancements and worldwide accepted standards. Involving students in planning courses can result in confusions and huge varieties of interests which might not be crucial to current industrial needs or trends. This might result in a lacking and unorganized learning which rather can result in demotivating students entirely. For example, courses containing vast subjects need to be introduced to the students in a generalized way so that they can get the grasp of the entire course in an organized way to choose which portion is interesting and for which prerequisites they need to learn.

Moreover, some students are also not mature enough to correctly know what they are actually interested in at first. To these students generalized learning gives an opportunity to explore all the dynamics of a course and then be able to distinguish which part excites them the most. Also being less aware of what is needed for industries, they can fail to choose crucial and practical topics which might turn into regret later in life. Generalized knowledge gives them a glimpse of each part of course from which they can later choose and pursue their field of interest. For example, if a course considering only the interests of students contain the trendy topics and lack the building blocks of that particular course then students would not be able to build the basics and for which they won’t be able to master the advanced topic.

Obviously students are more motivated to learn what they are interested in so students suggestions can be helpful sometimes. Suppose a course has been planned by the educators which is updated for a while. So students are getting bored and disinterested due to outdated topics. In such cases taking students' suggestions can help to design the course correctly.

In conclusion, students' interest and suggestions must be taken into account but rather considering them, including in the course outline different sessions can be arranged so that different groups of students can get together and work on their interested topic to prepare them for industry level skills. All the students should get generalized knowledge so that they don’t get lost and can choose the exact field of interest by actually exploring it. But in some cases if the course outline is outdated the changes based on students interests and demands should be introduced.