Claim: While boredom is often expressed with a sense of self-satisfaction, it should

really be a source of embarrassment.

Reason: Boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self-motivation.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Boredom can be thought of as a state of mind wherein we are tired of doing some repetitive task, and need to force ourselves to do it, as opposed to working voluntarily on it. This mostly happens when a person’s life becomes utterly monotonous, and then he/she needs to struggle to find some motivation to do his/her job. I agree that it is not very virtuous to be bored, and it must be dealt with careful introspection instead of adoring it. Often, the reason of boredom lies deep within ourselves, and in our outlook towards life.

Achieving anything valuable in life requires immense perseverence and hardwork. And often this can involve working on something tirelessly for long periods of time, which might lead to boredom. We find several examples of this in real life in the form of children being bored of going to school, professionals being bored of working in their company, etc. They feel lack of motivation while doing their daily tasks .Most of their fellow schoolmates or professionals agree with them over this feeling which reinforces their view that it is natural to be bored of school/job. But this is something which needs to be resolved in a timely manner, as the task is an integral part of their lives, which they have to do regardless of whether they like it or not.

Although boredom must not be gratified, it must not be met with embarresment either. We must always keep a progressive mindset and try to rectify our problems, without any kind of self-blame or self-hate. We must retrospect our daily lives and try to always remain aware of the primary motive of doing things, which will help us in focusing on the job without feeling bored.

Boredom is mostly associated with lack of self-motivation (as in the case of children and professionals) but sometimes it is also due to lack of imagination. Most of us have some artistic abilities which help us to enjoy a break out of our monotonous lives. These art forms let our imagination run wild, and that is a truly amazing feeling. But imagination is highly compromised in today’s modern era, where each and every person is just ingesting junk from social media and television, instead of reading books or practicing some art form, which could boost imagination.

But there are also instances where we find people forced to do something against their will, and they eventually get bored of it. For example, a child who wants to pursue his career in sports is made to focus on academics. In these cases, the child does not have any bearing over what is allowed to do. In such situations, only those who have a control of the person’s life can actually make some difference to it, and not be his/her introspection.

In conclusion, I believe that boredom should be met with self-thought instead of any kind of gratification, and rectified before it makes our lives difficult. But the instances in which we cannot control the daily tasks, the ones who actually do must give some thought to the person’s state of mind, and make sure that they relieve him/her of the boredom.