Claim: While boredom is often expressed with a sense of self-satisfaction, it

should really be a source of embarrassment.

Reason: Boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self-motivation.

The claim has aptly called the boredom a source of embarrassment as this source is surely arises from lack of imagination and self-motivation. The correctness of the claim lies in the reasons like letharegy and laid-back approach, getting influenced by other’s thoughts and physical inactivity. These attributes restricts the mind’s ability to think creative and frustrates the motivation of a person. All these reasons are discussed and analysed below in detail.

First of all, to describe boredom with self satisfaction is a self destructive thing one does to his personality. One such cause of boredom is lethargy and laid-back approach of a person. The reluctancy of doing something promptly with enthusiasm deteriorates the self-motivation and this in-turn force the mind to become satisfied with such reluctancy. Such a person starts to find evasive reasons to get self-satisfied. But being lethargic is an embarrassment. For example, if an extra player of a fifa team gets satisfied just by the fact that he is in the team and feels the false pleasure of achievement, then he will never improve and ultimately gets embarrassed by not getting selected in the playing squad.

Second reason to support the claim is the influence the others have on a person’s mindset. Even if a person is imaginative, proactive and self-motivated to do some task, the thoughts of other may bar him from doing the task he was about to execute. For example, if a person starts writing a book on a topic of science for general public, someone might convey his negative thoughts to the writer that many books on similar topic and genre have already been written. This will collapse the self-esteem and motivation of the person who was, one may never know, about to write a book which might have become very famous among the readers.

And finally, boredom is also derive its source from physical inactivity and the physically inactive person always lives in a fool’s paradise that he is fit and he doesn’t need any exercise. This is in itself is a great embarrasment for that person because people around him is more active and hence more creative and productive. For example, playing a fifa on computer cannot be compared with actual fifa on the grounds and thus the mundane computer game ultimately forces the person to get bored and restricting all his self-motivation. This is only because that person is in self-denial mode and he is fully satisfied with him even though he is marred with boredom.

In a nutshell, boredom is actually a source of embarrassment for a person rather than a self-satisfying concept. Above analysis clearly shows how various aspects kill the imaginative power and destroy the enthusiasm and motivation of a person.