College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The expanding incoming gaps between students majored in different fields lead people to think about a serious problem: Should college students decide their majors basing on the probability of the jobs in these field or should they make the decision basing on their on interests? The speaker believes that the probability of a job in the field is the most important. I however, can not agree with the speaker. I believe students' interest should be given priority when choosing fields for study.

First, college is no a place for before job training, rather it is a place for students to explore their talents and enrich themselves. They should be taught virtues and good values as well as professional knowledge. In the Bollywood movie--Three Idiots, the hero who then became a world-famous inventor said to his classmates: Study to be accomplished, not affluent. College Students should not concern only about how to make more money, but how to be more useful for their people. And this is what colleges are for: nurturing great minds.

Second, choosing one's major on the probability of that field regardless of the students' interest may inhibit the development of him. Focusing on the profit a study may prevent people to see their talents in other areas. What is more, many people succeed in the field they are not majored in. Lawyer is a profitable job, however, if Bill Gates who studied law a college student had stick to his major, there will not be Microsoft today and Walkin Chou, would have not become the most successful singer in Asian if he had not given up his major --Math's.

Last but not the least, the knowledge taught at class is not the only factor that decides one's success in career. Hardworking, team spirit, ability to deal with people are all important element for one's success in a field, professional knowledge alone can ensure one's success. The fact is, in many cases professional knowledge is even not one of the major factor that decide one's salary. Dale Carnegie and his researchers found in the 1930's that even in highly professional fields like engineering, only 30% of the high paid were those who knew more about engineering, the remaining 70% were those knew about engineering and the ways of dealing with people.

To sum up, college is a place where students should be taught a set of values, methods for learning and how they could be useful for their people as well as professional knowledge. Students should consider more than whether a field is remunerable before they decide their major.