Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are
unclear.
The concept of funding is always troubling and a point of worry for scientists, whether it is from a private organization or by the government, the pressure remains the
same. While it is true that, from understanding a simple concept of resistance in electrical conductance or a breakthrough like the faraday's laws the world has witnessed
some wonder which took them us by surprise. However, all of them were accidents and not properly funded research, which by logic or common sense, should have an objective
to complete, or a theory to prove or disprove, or development of a new technology. Research is always done with pre-determined results in mind. I will put forth my
views on the prerequisite of funding by the government for scientific research in this essay.
Research is a way to prove an initial idea, every research has its own purpose and objective, a team of great minds coming together to achieve or attempt to solve
mysteries that no one could till now. The idea of research is always to achieve a target or to innovate, this target can be as simple as to prove a statement like
ohms law, or to study the effects of a substance or naturally occurring phenomena on other beings or on itself, for example, the eruption of a volcano, on the other hand, it
can be as complex as the idea to develop a quantum computer.
The idea of just putting money into something without knowing the benefits it will reap sounds rubbish, one would never invest or donate money in anything if the use of the
money is not justified. The same goes for the government when choosing the research to fund, always the deciding factor is the quality and the potential the result of the research,
if successful, possesses.
Conversely, people generally confuse research with accidental discoveries, the innovation of electro-magnetic applications was a result of an accident which was
followed by proper research on the idea whose source was the accident but even in this case too the research had an aim. Some might say that these strict proposal
guidelines will eventually demoralize fellow scientists to even come up, fearing rejection and the world would lose some very good ideas. Nothing can be further from
the truth, if anyone has a purpose to research then there should also be known consequences.
It sum it up, no research will turn fruitful until an aim is agreed upon. Without aim, research is just people with technical knowledge hitting shots in the dark,
hoping to hit a bull's eye and no one not even the government should bear the loss of such profligate consumers of money.