College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field

The writer contends that college students must consider job availability as the most important fact for choosing their field. This is a contention I totally disagree with. In what follows I will delineate my reasons.

Firstly, in my opinion the most important factor concerns this matter is student's interests. Zeal is like fuel which makes students devote themselves to do their best. If some other factors like job availability make students to forget their interest, they will feel this is not their chose and this feel of obligation can be stifling. On the other hand, when student choose their field base on their characteristic, they will find that their choice. Therefore they put their heart and soul in order to do their best. Enthusiasm for knowing more and more in specific field not only makes them study well but also push them to do researches in the field. They will do research not for marks but to satisfy they thirst for answers. Therefore they will improve gradually.

Observing this improvement and being enthusiastic about their field, not only make student outstandingly successful in their future job, but also make them always satisfied. A well paid employee who does not love his job always tries to find problem to nag about it. Whereas the one who is fond of his job is always happy no matter how hard the situations of his job is. Generally seeing, this satisfaction can make the whole society lively which is one of the most important issues of all governments.

Some people believe if students choose their field base on their interest, they may end up jobless, as there is no job for all expertise in society. I believe, societies needs wide range of expertise which is compatible with wide range of interests students have. If society does not have the potential to offer job to graduate of a field, its graduates can always find job acceptably compatible with their field of study. For example in my country there is no company for manufacturing airplane, but students who have studied mechanical engineering with specialty of airplane can repair them or produce their spare parts.

In sum, I believe students must choose their field base on their inner factors like interest and characteristic. Letting any outer factors play role in this matter can make them hate their field and future job.