Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Nowadays, Email has become a prime source of formal way of communication. Instead of sending letters like we used to do in earlier days, emails now have taken over such modes of communication. The author says that Company management should conduct a timely check of all employees email in order to reduce the waste of resources like time and system capacity and can also protect the company from lawsuits. This view has many merits and demerits let us start by discussing the merits.

To begin, Most of the employees in the company use the email for personal use also, taking a lot of system memory due to such mails. For example - A employee has ordered a TV set for home so all the details about the order location will directly come over in his mail. Similarly all the stuff which is online the only way to communicate is by message or email. Due to this downloading and viewing such emails takes up a lot of space in the PC and some of the mails available online has the policy of deleting previous mail ones it reaches a particular threshold which can led to deleting of important mails of client. To handle such issue the employers must use a private email of there own so that important clients mails are not deleted by the servers. By monitoring the emails of the employee such types of issues can be taken care of.

In addition to it, By keeping a regular check of all employees email will also give us an idea that the employee is responding to the client’s complaint properly or not.This can save the company from lawsuits. For example - A suppose a client files a fake complaint against a company so that he can gain a compensation from that company. In this case Monitoring the employees email gives us a plus point like the company can show the proof that the client was responded properly for his complaint and also was also given a proper solution. This will help us in defending the company from lawsuits. Another Example - if a employee is misbehaving with the client then by keeping check on that employees email it will help the company to correct the mistakes of the employee and tell that employee to act correctly. Such issues can be solved by just monitoring the emails of the employees routinely.

In contrasts, There is an issue in monitoring the employees email as the routine monitoring is done to save some time , this could also end up in wasting a lot of time. For example - the monitoring will be done by a human, he will have to spend a lot of time in seeing to all the mails of the employee thus will waste a lot of time. But, such issues can be handle by developing an Artificial intelligence machine which could understand the mail whether it is positively written or negatively. This can save a significant amount of time.

In conclusion, Routinely checking employees email can help the company in saving a lot of time and space. And could also protect the company from lawsuit. This can happen by providing solutions to employees like getting a private email for there personal use and the company should keep check of how the employees are responding to their clients complaint and lastly developing a AI machine to differentiate between positive mails and negative mails.