The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Music is by far the best thing in the entertainment industry. There are hardly any people who don't listen to music. Being dead for several generation cannot be a proper or an efficient way to measure a talent of a musician. A musician talent can be measured by the responses people give to his/her songs. I disagree with the statement that for an honest assesment the musician need to stop or no longer produce music in other words being metaphorically dead. I support my position by the following two examples.

Firstly, Fame of any musician cannot help him to achieve glory, its his music which will help him to achieve success. For example - A singer in india named Anu Malik was a great singer and composer of his time, he had given chances to many individuals to excel in their carrers. His son did not have that much great voice in singing, but because he is Anu malik's son he got many opportunitites in the music industry but he could'nt excel enough as the people did'nt like his music. So here we get to know that though the musician has some fame in the industry it will not interfere with the honest assessments, whether he is active or dead .

Secondly, For assessing a talent of an musician he need not be dead(not active). The responses he/she gets from audience is enough for him/her for honest assesment. For example, Arjit singh , he is best singer of the current generation. Whenever his songs come they all are fantastic. This judgement of fantastic is not because he is now a great singer but because his songs connect to people's heart and people like such songs. This real talent does not need any assessment as here fame does not interfere, only the sher talent is assessed here and for that he need not need to be dead.

In contrasts, Some singers who have talents, people fails to reconginze that talent at first, they recongnise that talent much later when the musician has stop producing songs. One such musician named Honey Sighn in india had a great talent in music but responses to his songs where not that great. Which made him weak and less confident. Soon after when he stopped producing songs, people then reliase how great musician he was. Then he made a comeback after 5 years and now he is achieving great success.

In conclusion, For assessing the real talent of any musician, the musician need not need to be dead(not active). As fame and glory does not interfere with the honest assessment. As music is a art which either you like it or don't , there is noting in between which can change these things.