Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Monitoring of work in a timely fashion is always considered a boon,as it is an indication of a systematic approach and enables one to be in constant touch with the work being studied.But,for a company the importance of such a monitoring takes different forms and is much higher due to security reasons.So,one way of keeping abreast with the happenings in ones surrounding could be a routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence.Over the years,Internet has become an integral part of the functioning of an organisation and hence some vigilance in this area can definitely be an incentive for any organisation.

These days be it a small or a large company,there is always a risk of illegal passing of information between individuals of different companies.Especially with the startup fever catching up,people are always looking out to branch out after gaining some amount of experience in an organisation and so, it becomes all the more important to protect a company's valuable data from misuse.This is the reason that most companies provide its employee with a laptop from their side and are asked to make use of their official e-mail ids for all official purposes.It is true that a person might easily be able to commit any illegal activity even without being under the radar by making use of their other mail ids.But,this policy will definitely make individuals think twice before indulging themselves into such acts.Apart from security reasons,it also helps in ensuring the smooth functioning of an organisation by tracking the routine work of all individuals and can detect any disruption if any exists.But,it is also important to consider to possible consequences of implementing the policy.

Employees are the foundation of any organisation as they are vital for the materialisation of the company's goals.So, there must exist a sense of security and trust even for the employees, only then do they feel as if their a part of something.But, when we implement something like a routine monitoring of their e-mail correspondence,then many might feel that there is a lack of trust.There is possibility that somewhere this might reduce an individuals efficiency.When dealing with a small company,where this trust is of immense importance maybe this monitoring can be forgone,but in larger scenario,it can't be and trust issues take a back seat when security issues supplant it.

So,routine monitoring can be considered to be an effective tool in keeping control of a few important functions of an organisation,though disadvantages might exist, but in the longer run it will only turn out to be beneficial.