A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The study mentions that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay and it bases its claim on the basis of studying two region, one being Himalayan mountain region in Nepal and secondly the US.It states that people of Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay compared to the people of US , albeit they receive little to no professional dental care.

There are alternative explanations that could explain the conclusion.Firstly, the study considers two completely different regions that follow completely different food habits.Food habits have a very important role to play, as it is a known fact that too many chocolates or sweets leads to a tooth decay.So, considering that the lifestyle is different,we cannot turn away our eyes from the possibility of food causing tooth decay.If this holds true then, dental care can definitely reduce it but cannot prevent it from occurring until the cause is clearly looked into.This explanation is also bolstered by the fact presented in the study which points out that people in the suburban ares in US see a dentist on an average of 1.25 times per year.The same case doesn't hold for the people in Nepal who can manage even without professional dental care.

Another explanation could be the lack of awareness amongst the people of Nepal.One visits the doctor, when he/she knows that they suffering from a problem.People living in Nepal might not be aware that pain their tooth is not a minor issue and is the consequence of tooth decay.Taking into account that there is no professional dental care,most of them prefer to overlook the problem.As a result the data provided by the survey cannot be validated.

Thirdly, the study uses the frequents visits of people to dental care to support its claims that the children of US are more likely to suffer from tooth decay.But, on a closer observation we can also consider the possibility of the visits just being normal health care visits.It is not necessary that it must indicate a tooth decay.

So, a few explanations could undermine the conclusion easily by looking at the issue from a slightly different perspective.