A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

No individual is perfect and there is always room for improvement.Learning from mistakes makes a person a better human being, but the degree of loss due to the mistake decides whether the guilty can be exonerated.Crime is one such mistake which can't be dealt with leniency because it involves either disrupting the lives or intruding into the freedom of other individuals.But, the question lies in, how should the guilty be punished?

On one hand we witness stringent laws regarding crimes such as rape, murder, etc in countries in the middle east, where lynching, castration are some of the adopted ways of retribution which would definitely not offer a second chance to the criminal.While on the other hand,we face situations in countries like India, where no sudden judgements are passed and justice may come after years of trials.Be it a minor offence to crimes such as rape, justice is delayed and it is a known fact that justice delayed is justice denied.The Nirbhaya rape case is one such example, where the perpetrators should have been immediately castrated for the gruesome act they commit irrespective of their age.In such cases, these criminals should be left over to the public, that would definitely justify the justice needed.It its during these acts of crime that it must be ensured that the criminals are unable to retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labour.

Rights must be considered as a privilege for these criminals so that they value these rights and also the rights exercised by others.In India, till they aren't given a medicine for their acts, nothing will deter them from committing such morbid acts again.

However, it must be kept in mind that the main objective of punishments is penitence or the sense of regret that individuals must accept.Though a crime may have been commit knowingly, but sometimes circumstances are such that it doesn't leave an individual with a choice, in those cases punishments are given accordingly.Stringent laws always don't work to an advantage for a country, flexibility is needed because every crime has a different story to tell.

Therefore, the nature of crime should be the most important deciding factor and only a close inspection of the case and give the best solution as a method for justice.A gruesome act of violence commit knowingly should be dealt with utmost seriousness as these individuals are a threat to the society and are the ones who don't respect the rights of others.Hence, they must be taught to first respect their own.Other acts can be dealt with relevant punishments.