The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

From very early on in life, we are exposed to myriad choices with glimpses being given to each of it in the form of social science, maths , science,languages, computers and with age, we are to streamline our interests.But, the world is changing and so are the interests of people.Self-knowledge is becoming a very important aspect.With the startup fever gaining steam, people from all walks of life and through different age groups are being seen engaged in them.

With internet exposing an individual to a whole new world where one can learn whatever one wants to, sky is no longer the limit.Children as old as 12 or 13 years are learning programming and honing up their technical skills.People who take initiatives on their are the ones who are wanted today, they are the ones who have the urge and hence it is always advised to indulge in self knowledge since childhood.It is rightly bySTEAVE JOBS "Stay hungry, Stay foolish",over the years it creates an inquisitive and a voracious individual.So how to develop self-knowledge?

Self motivation is a big factor in this, as one has to compel oneself to move out of the comfort zone and venture into the world of unknown.This way we are able to widen our horizon and appreciate different aspects of the life.For example, whatever a person might be today, programming or the changing technology is an area that everyone must keep abreast with.This is due to the simple reason that technology has formed the basis of everything happenening around us.The time has come when we have to lay our hands on things that we don't know,by which i don't mean that we have to reject the familiar.Rejecting the familiar becomes to strong and that needn't be the case.One must continue to further their interest in the familiar but at the same time look out for the unknown.

Taking the case of startup, why is it that some of them manage to attract investors from worldwide?It is because people are being paid to come out of their cocoon and bring about novel ideas to venture into the arcane land of immense opportunity.People have to be encouraged to take the road not taken,only then can progress and advancement continue.Had Thomas Alva Edison not deviated from the familiar and not tried his hands on the unknown , then even today we might have been living in the dark.

So, what i mean to convey is that even today there are many things that seem esoteric to humans and in order for us to continue this advancement of technology we need people to motivate themselves to indulge in self-knowledge , which will come from engaging themselves with topics that are not familiar to them.Rejection of the familiar is definitely not the solution, but moving past it is definitely one way out.