Discussion is useless in changing someone’s core beliefs

The exchange of thoughts, discussion, is the core way in which humans are able to communicate with one another. Discussion is vital to align and sync with one another so that we are able to live and work together productively. Although it could be said that discussion is not the most effective way to change someone’s core beliefs, it is our most fundamental way of challenging what we consider right or wrong. Therefore whether controversial or not, effective or ineffective, discussion lies at the core of our exchanges with one another and as a result should not be underestimated.

First and foremost, perhaps the cynical nature of the statement can be appreciated. Is discussion the most effective way to change core belief? There are more effective ways, action, situation, awareness of reality. However, it’s usefulness can not be underestimated as the method humans have of communicating and changing the thoughts of other humans.

On the contrary, it is the generally the quickest and most risk free way to trial and error ways of thought - giving us a chance to challenge things that might be to risky or damaging to believe or act upon. The act of discussion allows us to challenge conceptions and belief in a low risk way.

Core beliefs. Core beliefs, as the adjective describes, are beliefs held closely within self. The foundations of a persons character. Therefore, unlike a fleeting thought or a new idea, core beliefs are resistant to change, as they should be. For a person they provide stability and a lens in which to interface with the world. Only because a discussion did not change someone’s core beliefs it does not suggest the discussion was not useful. Discussion could be the seed that leads one to pensive thought and a challenge of core belief. Discussion might not be the trigger switch but the beginning of a gradual change of thought.

Discussion is not always effective, perhaps particularly when it comes to changing the core beliefs of another. However, discussion, the exchange of thought, is it our super power in how we interact with one another. It gives us a low risk method of trialling ideas & new developments within ourselves. It can plant the seeds for thought that leads to change. Discussion - in respect to changing the core beliefs of another - might very well be ineffective when talking absolutely and in expectation of shifting the core of what we believe but what the statement emits, is the ability of discussion to challenge and plant a seed for change. Thus, the usefulness of discussion, even with those with contrasting views should not be underestimated!