The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from those who they lead.

Although it can be said that leaders, by encouraging feedback from those they lead, is a progressive stance and a characteristic of critical thinking present in many of the best leaders: The best leaders result from a range of characteristics and contextual factors beyond simply their open push for peer feedback.

First and foremost, it is foundational that we understand that encouraging feedback as a progressive method of leadership is only applicable in certain cases, thus, leaders must be evaluated within the context of their leadership. For example, this can be explained in the comparison of 21st-century hi-tech business leadership compared to military leadership. In 21st-century business, let's say in High-Technology, critical thinking is a soft skill that is highly valued and thus companies, seeking this skill, generally hire people who can think extremely critically. This characteristic then closes the divide between the leader and the lead and provides a 'system' of working that is highly intellectual and conceptual.

Onwards, perhaps we can evaluate the statement as directionally correct but not fully developed. The best leaders might not be those who encourage feedback from the people they lead but understand that this feedback is a tool to be used in particular scenarios - such as in politics.

In all, leaders encouragement of feedback from those they lead is a particularly progressive stance and has been fruitful particularly in the modern world of business, where high level, critical thinkers are in collaboration to solve complex problems. However, we can see that this openness to feedback is less effective in other forms of leadership, such as the military, where the decisions of the leader. Therefore we can say that the best leaders result from a range of characteristics and contextual factors beyond simply their open push for peer feedback.