A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer

Although there are some clear cut benefits to a nation requiring all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college; such as that of providing a comprehensive and rigorous grading system for university entry, The cons of such a motion would underscore the dangers of an education filled with bureaucracy. Creating an education system that would be prone to gamification, an education system that loses the joys of specialization and last but not least, an education system that does not prepare its students for the trials and challenges that university provides - both in intellect and in critical thinking. Therefore, a nation should keep a national curriculum as a default option but not as a requirement.

First and foremost, the dangers of bureaucracy. Defined as a government where decision-making is lead by state officials, bureaucracy is often associated with inefficient and overly complex systems that do not align with our best interests. A requirement for a standard education cross-nation, although a system that can provide value, loses the incentive for learning and places the emphasis on gamification and 'cheating' of a system.

Moreover, as students enter and progress through the school system, we must incentivize them to learn, not game. The requirement of learning to a national curriculum removes the student's ability to be curious (through a lack of choice and unpredictability), to imagine and to follow their interests. In a curriculum that provides a set range of subjects, there will be a lack of rigor and openness for the desires and curiosities of the student. The student will not have skin in their education.

In continuation, without the ability for a student to think critically, the student is not prepared for the trials of the university, in which the major proponent of intellectual thought is critical thinking.

In conclusion, as it provides a system of education, a nation should keep a national curriculum as a default option but not as a requirement. The potential of an open and flexible education avoids the pitfalls of bureaucracy, underscores a student's ability to think critically and thus prepares them for the great tests of the university in which the ability to work off the beaten path and think for one's self is a skill highly cherished.